BBC World Series has announced that they will be broadcasting in four new Indian languages. The launch is part of the World Service’s biggest expansion since the 1940s, following a government funding boost announced in 2016. Broadcasting is now available in a total of 40 languages, including English. The new Indian languages include MarathiGujaratiTelugu and Punjabi. Marathi, originated in Western India and spoken by an estimated 73 million people is known for being India’s richest state, Mumbai. Gujarati is spoken by 50 million people in Western India, an area known for great vegetarian food, unsurpassed entrepreneurial skills and the dandiya dance. Punjabi is spoken by 100 million people and is the 11th most used language in the world.  It originated in North-western Indian, a region  known for Agriculture, Bhangra and the Golden Temple. Telugu is spoken by 75 million people and originated in Southern India. The region is known for Tirupati – the world’s richest temple, Hyderabadi Biryani, an iconic 16th Century mosque and the Charminar monument.